Sarah Beth's Blog

A Beginner Blogger

Podcast-Managing the Gray April 7, 2009

Filed under: PR Connections — sbsullivan @ 12:08 am

We did not have class on Wednesday for my PRCA 2330, so instead we were required to listen to a podcast on the Internet. I chose to listen to one called Managing the Grayby C.C. Chapman. The Managing the Gray website says this podcast is to “help business professionals and individuals stay up to date on what is happening in the world of social media.”

Just by listening to one podcast, I would have to agree that Managing the Gray is accomplishing it’s goal. I learned many ways of using the media to my advantage. The key part of social media is social networking on the Internet. Sites like Twitter, Facebook, and other blogging websites. Chapman said Twitter is important to connect with people in many different areas of the country and find people with similar interests. Facebook has made changes to further this process. Facebook now has a Fan Page, which makes it easier to broadcast your information. Personally, I think this change made Facebook more similar to Twitter. He mentioned a site called About Face which helps people who want to create a Fan Page on Facebook to hold appeal for people wanting to appeal to business associates. I really only think of Facebook as a way for my generation to stay in touch with friends, but Chapman made me realize it is becoming more of a business tool as well.

I was surprised at the effectiveness of the podcast. I have never listened to one before. I am a very visual learner so usually it is hard for me to listen to someone speaking without any visual aids for an extended period of time. This being said, I was surprised when I was able to hang on every word Chapman said. I enjoyed the podcast. It was really interesting, and Chapman was not boring at all. I will definitely be listening to some more of these in the future.

I want to know more about podcasts in general. Who are well-known podcasters? Can I subscribe to them? How do I download them to my iPod? I’m also majoring in Spanish. Are there podcasts in Spanish?

 

2 Responses to “Podcast-Managing the Gray”

  1. C.C. Chapman Says:

    So glad to hear that your first podcast experience was a good one and that it was mine! *grin*

    There are lots of options for how to start subscribing to Podcasts, but the easiest is iTunes. You can then put in the feed URL for any podcast or search their vast directory and click on the ones you want to listen to. Then depending on your MP3 player it is just a matter of transferring them over.

    If you get stuck, drop me an e-mail and I’d be happy to help you. If you enjoyed mine then I’ll recommend Six Pixels of Separation from Mitch Joel as a must listen to.

    What a great class assignment!

    • sbsullivan Says:

      Thank you for responding! I was so excited to hear back from you. I will definitely let you know if I have any questions!
      Sarah Beth Sullivan


Leave a Reply

